Helloooo this is pday number 30 in the country of Argentina. haha thats a lot. Anyway, this week was really, really strange. It started on tuesday with a normal work day, but in the evening there was a *boda*, which is a wedding party but in this case it was a party for some people who got sealed in the temple last week. It was pretty fun, there was a lot of good food and there was a lot of dancing and stuff. We had to leave before it was over but it was getting pretty crazy! I attatched a picture of some of the decorations. (it was in the chapel..)
So on wednesday morning we went by the church at 6 am before catching a bus to San Francisco...they left it completely destroyed! I should've taken a picture of it. There was cake and empanadas smashed everywhere and all the balloons were popped and thrown everywhere. It was quite the scene, and I fully support the practice in America of cleaning the churches after activities before everyone goes home.
We arrived in San Fran later that day just fine, and had a good Zone meeting. There is a picture attatched of our zone, They sprung this meeting on us at 10:30 the night before, but we only had to travel 2 hrs so it wasn't that bad. It was a good meeting, and we got back to our area at a decent hour. Wednesday was also "dia de los amigos" in Argentina, and the bishops family invited us over that night for a little barbeque! It was really nice of them to think of us.
On Thursday, we had to go to Cordoba because I had to do some paperwork at the chief police station so that I didn't get deported from the country. By this point I was pretty sick of travelling, but I really like the city of Cordoba because its so massive and so much stuff to see. That basically took all day. Afterwards they gave us a little bit of money to eat lunch there in the city. We ate at McDonalds, and it was the first time I had eaten fast food since the salt lake airport! It had 2 stories and It was super super crowded, I mean every table was full and there were large lines. It was crazy.
On Friday morning, we had to travel again. To las varillas this time, because my comp had to give a baptismal interview to an investigator of the sisters there. That journey takes over 4 hours in bus, or 1 1\2 in taxi. My comp wanted to go in taxi to save time, but that was way more expensive. But we went, and we had a decent day working out there. We found them some new people to teach, and we talked to the lady who was thinking about getting baptized. When we first got there to her house she wasn't very sure about being baptized, and her husband didn't want her to do it. Basically, we just got them to like us (I gave them a quarter, nickel, penny and a dime because they collected foreign money) and then started talking about baptism, she was able to get super excited about it! She actually started getting mad that she couldn't get baptized the next day! That was pretty cool. So in the end her baptism was set for next Saturday. We got some icecream after that, and set off for home. That is when everything went downhill.
We had missed the 8:40 bus to San Francisco, and we were hoping there was one before 10:30 so that we could make it there in time to take the next one at midnight back to Arroyito. However, the earliest one was at 11:10. That would've meant sleeping in the San Francisco terminal all night, and I honestly would've been fine with that, I just wanted to get out there. But what ended up happening is that we decided to sleep there in las varillas. Obviously we couldn't sleep with the other missionaries there, so we had to sleep on the floor in their church. But they don't have a real church building because there are only like 15 members there, so they are renting out this old abandoned doctors house to meet in. So we got to sleep on the hardwood floor of this creepy old doctors house with nothing but a blanket, and it was freezing in there. There is this big table in there under a light and it looks like he used to do illegal surgeries there.
So that night really sucked, but we lived, and we set out next morning for the bus. That is when I realized that I did not have the keys....I lost them. I have no idea what happened, they are always in my pocket. The last time I saw them was Friday morning at 6:30, they are most likely in some taxi somewhere. So that was really embarrassing and ruined everything. I had to call the office to tell them that I had no keys, and then they started getting mad at us because we were still in the other area, and it all just turned into this huge big ridiculous deal. I just wanted to get out of that area even though we had no keys because I was tired of the office people getting mad at us so we left in a taxi and got back to our area as soon as possible. So we got to walk around our area all day without ever showering or anything, and we were supposed to await the zone leaders to bring us a spare key at 6:30 pm. That got changed to 9, then 10:30, then they told us that we had to come there to San Francisco if we wanted they key. We got on a bus and arrived there at 3 AM. That was where we finally got the key, and the next bus left at 5:20 am to our area. I was so tired and cold and it was terrible. While we were walking to the bus terminal I think I fell asleep and I tripped and fell and ripped a big huge hole in my second favorite pair of pants. We got back to our area at 7 am, just in time to go to church and directly afterwards to a lunch appointment. Basically everything that could've gone wrong did. On top of losing the keys and not being able to really sleep or shower for 3 days, when I got back inside our apartment I discovered that I lost one of my 2 name tags. And when we finally got to take a shower, the hot water didn't work.
So with all that mess we only got to work a little bit in our own area. We have an investigator with a baptismal date for this Saturday, her names Angie. I'll talk more about that next week after it happens.
That's about all there is to say. I hope everything is going well at home!
Love, Elder Christensen
